Workouts and Such

I have no intention of turning this into some kind of food/diet/exercise blog, mostly because it would be the worst food/diet/exercise blog ever if I tried, but I do think some accountability is a good thing. Given that I work out by myself and eat by myself most of the time, it can be very easy to slack off and either skip a day of exercise every so often (not usually a problem, but it happens sometimes) or eat things that are not good for me (a much bigger problem, and the main reason why the scale hasn’t moved in 10 months despite working out regularly). Because of this, I am going to try to integrate some accountability into my blog posts – just simple stuff, like the workouts that I do and the things I eat. I’m also very, very open to any suggestions that the 4 people who probably read this blog might have for me as far as things I can improve.

Typically, here’s how my workouts go:

Monday/Friday:

Incline Dumbbell Press – 3 X 10
Lateral Pulldown – 3 X 10
Dumbbell Flys – 3 X 10
Upright Rows – 3 X 10
Tricep Pulldown – 3 X 10
Straight Bar Curl – 3 X 10
Suspension Strap Tricep Extension – 3 X 10
Suspension Strap Bicep Curl – 3 X 10
Incline Crunch – 3 X 15

Tuesday/Thursday:

Heavy Bag Workout

  • Jab – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Cross – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Hook – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Jab/Cross – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Jab/Cross/Hook – 15 Right/15 Left
  • Front Kick – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Side Kick – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Roundhouse Kick – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Crescent/Bubble Kick – 20 Right/20 Left
  • Punch Combos – 4 sets of 6 of each
    • Jab/Cross X 4
    • Body Blows X 9
    • Left Hook X 1

Wednesday:

Shoulder Press – 3 X 10
Lateral Raises – 3 X 10
Suspension Strap T Deltoid Fly – 3 X 10
Hack Squat – 3 X 10
Leg Press – 5 X 10 (I do 5 mostly because I just really enjoy this exercise)
Squat – 3 X 10
Leg Extension – 3 X 10
Leg Curl – 3 X 10
Incline Crunch – 3 X 15

At some point, I’d like to start expanding my horizons and including different exercises in these routines. I’d especially like to find a spot for deadlifts in there somewhere. Again, I am very much open to suggestions.

Well, that’s all for this post. Here’s one for the road:

One thought on “Workouts and Such

  1. Search “Jeff Cavalierre” (sp?) on YouTube. Check out his various body part workout videos, and especially his educational videos. He is a great teacher. I have not done AthleanX (yet). Been using his stuff a lot the past 6-7 months and have made great progress.

    My workouts are shorter in length, higher in intensity, and all the benefits are there.

    Like

Leave a comment